Thursday, August 16, 2012

  
Not much has changed for me lately.  Down one dog as my Maltese Max passed in March.  Critter was 14 years old and I had no idea he was that old.  Took him in on a Thursday to get all his shots and get his teeth cleaned.  Passed on all the extra tests they "recommend" before any process.  Picked him up that day ($398.00 tab) and he was fine and eating over the weekend and then he had his first ever seizure on Monday.  He regrouped but was a little "tame" the rest of the day and the next.  I held him a lot on Tuesday and I put him outside and all was fine when the dogs came back in.  Just a bit later I looked and he was on his side in the foyer and not moving.  Went to get him and saw that he'd had another seizure and was really loopy.  Grabbed him up and headed for the vets and Doc tried but he had one or two more seizures and it was over.  Little booger -  I had just spend $398 on him and the new charge was $90 something.  He was such a little shit that was par for the course for him - lol.

Now my Charlie Cocker is failing fast on me but his tail is still wagging so he's good.  He never did pay much attention when called so not sure just how deaf his is but when he's sleeping a bomb could go off in this house and he wouldn't wake up.  And he's just about blind to go with the hearing.  He's always marched to a different drummer but now it is so - can't think of the right word.  If there is a long way to get somewhere, that is the way he goes and at his own plodding pace.  Right now he spends most of his day in the dog's room napping.  The floor in there is tile and I bet much cooler on him.  Not sure how old he is.  We estimated by his teeth when we first got him but he's quite the chewer and his teeth are good so we probably were way off in the estimate.  His formerly black face is now gotten quite gray.  As long as his tail is wagging and he eats I'm not gonna worry about his future.

My female Schnauzer, Scilla, was diagnosed with diabetes so we've been doing the weight loss and insulin shots.  Can't remember just when that happened but think it was about a year ago.  I've always thought she was part potbelly pig and Jim used to call her Gorgrilla cause she was quite the fatty.  She's lost weight and I've given up on trying to monitor her sugar levels so staying with the same units and the same amount of food until I get told I have to change.  Almost lost her while trying to keep her level in the right areas.  Her only tell is drinking excessive amounts of water or a discharge that stains her underside.  Seems to be somewhat under control.  Scruffy, my other Schnauzer, and KC, the King Charles Cavalier, are doing well - knock on wood (as I thump my head - lol)

As for me, I had my very first date in 25 years and that was different.  The date itself went well, I thought, but the following emails from him pushed things beyond my comfort level.  Like "getting between each other's thighs" after one date sort of spooked me.  He had asked where I wanted the relationship to go - on the first date even! - and I had told him that I had no idea and just wanted to see how things went.  I did hook up with him from the internet so that's my last time doing that!  After being with someone for so long it is hard to think of being with someone else but then again it's hard to think of not ever being with someone.  PLUS all the joyous things that happen to a body in the 60's.  Bumps, lumps, GAS, aching bones - you know, all the things that make one feel so beautiful - roflmao!!!

Currently unemployed but do have income from the many houses Jim accumulated.  He would say that when he died he wanted to leave me 10 rent houses.  I would always reply that when he died 10 houses would go on the market.  When he died I did have more than 10 but the houses weren't all that great and the market sucked and I did not like being a landlord.  I now have all but one on contract for deeds and haven't had more than one or two come back to me.  I did work in 2010 and a bit of 2011 but have been on unemployment until it ran out last month.  Bummer!  Will be turning 62 in January so debating on collecting Social Security or not. Dad said he figured out his way back when and it made sense to collect at 62 but said he hadn't counted on living so long.  He's 84 now.  I know I'm gonna have to get something to do if just to get me out of the house.  I think inertia has set in and I'm really going to have to like whatever I do.  Thinking about applying to be a jail guard.  That way I wouldn't really have to be nice and that is appealing.


Thursday, May 24, 2012

Boycotting

Watched John Mayer on Watch What Happens Live last night.  While he still seems quite full of himself he also seems to have a good sense of humor about it.  That said, he will be oh so happy to learn that I have stopped my boycott of his music.  I just know he was soooo concerned about that so I will now put his mind at ease.  You are very welcome, John Mayer.

Some celebrities just seem to reveal way to much of themselves, in my opinion, and either I tire of them or don't appreciate something about them.  I first just thought he was such a great young man and I liked his music.  I think that years ago he played at some high school prom or something and that caught my attention.  I bought three of his Cd's and loved them.  Then came his "love life" and his twitters and other things.  Maybe I should have given him more slack for being young but I didn't and thus began my boycott.

He joined the ranks of Tom Cruise, Anne Heche, Rosie O'Donnell and some others that I just can't think of right now.  Too much information does it every time.  I really don't care what religion, sexual preference, or political affiliation.  I want to watch a movie/TV show or listen to a song and just enjoy the story/music and not be reminded of something about the actor/musician.  Oh yeah, Sean Penn is also one.  See, they are coming to mind as I gripe.

That said, I have a shortcut to TMZ on my computer and subscribe to Entertainment Weekly.  Seems to contradict not wanting TMI but I do want to know what's going on.  There is a fine line for me and I doubt that I could actually pinpoint just where that line is so those concerned could keep from suffering my nerve wracking boycotts.  For Anne Heche it was her love life and the comments she seemed to need to make upon breaking up.  While I did enjoy her performance on Ally McBeal, this information colored other performances and I found it hard to enjoy them.  For Rosie O'Donnell, it was just too much of her and her opinions - loudly.  Gotta admit that I did love those Kmart commercials with her and Penny Marshall.

One thing does seem to incur my "wrath" is celebrities raising money for or supporting children other than those in the USA.  Until every child here gets 3 meals a day and everything needed for a safe, happy, and educated childhood I cannot condone going overseas to find "needy" children.  Take care of your own children before going out to help the neighbors.  Is that too much to ask?  And also responding to help after a "natural" disaster.  It's horrible that some countries are hit with earthquakes, tsunamis and other things.  Things happen here also that don't seem to warrant celebrity assistance.  Joplin was not the only community to suffer severe devastation last year or this year.  How about North Dakota and the surrounding states with flood damage?  Thus, Oprah is also on my list.  A school in the deep south, for example, would have been wonderful rather than going to an African community with a school.

Okay, enough.  I could rant all day about my opinions that result in my "One Woman Boycotts" but all that will manage to do is get me riled up and I'll think of other "celebrities" that are suffering my boycott.  Too bad for them!!

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Whitney Houston

I don't know why but her death has just stayed and stayed on my mind. Oh I know that it's every where on tv and the internet but I just keep singing her songs when I'm doing just putzing around the house. No way do I sound as good as her but the dogs haven't bit me yet so I keep going.
Seriously though, it seems such a horrible waste. She had such talent and seems to have squandered it away. I've read/heard that she thought it was a burden and I guess I can sort of see that but not enough to not take care of it.
Right after I heard of her death, I realized I had none of her music on my ipod. I went to itunes and saw there was a greatest hits and I bought that. Did search around the internet and there was the clip of her singing "Jesus Loves Me" and it was so sad. Thought about buying her latest album but haven't done that and haven't even listened to it. I think I prefer to listen to her in her prime. I have that playing right now as I'm typing this. I get a good feeling listening to her and always have - just now realized that - even the "sad" ones. Love singing along with her!!
I pray that her death was not caused by some accident but rather something that can be more attributed to something the Lord alone would have caused. RIP dear Whitney.